Classroom Projects

DonorsChoose and Stephen Colbert

A great surprise

Today I found out that my latest project on DonorsChoose was fully funded thanks to Stephen Colbert, The Morgridge Family Foundation ‘s Share Fair Nation, and ScanSource! It was such a great surprise to check my e-mail and see that the project had been fully funded.  I was in a state of awe!  I posted the project 2 weeks ago for Casio graphing calculators and donated money myself.  I was the only donor along with the matching donor.  When I read the project was fully funded so many things were running through my mind as I knew I needed about another $450 to be fully funded.  I wanted to know immediately who decided to fund the project so that I could thank them.  This has been a highlight of my week to feel the support from others as I am finishing my first year of teaching.  This donation will greatly impact my students and has rejuvenated and inspired me to continue to use DonorsChoose to help my students! Words can not express how thankful I am.

A generous donation

Not only did Stephen Colbert, The Morgridge Family Foundation and ScanSource fund my project, but they funded ALL projects in South Carolina.  To read more check out this article from GreenvilleOnline.  It is such an encouragement to be a part of the generosity of others and to see that others know and believe in the value of a public education.  I am very thankful for all donors and supporters of public education.

As the year is coming to an end and both teachers and students are getting ready for summer break it was great to feel the support of others during teacher appreciation week.

New Calculators

With the full funding of this project my class is now halfway to a full set of Casio graphing calculators.  My college professor first introduced my to the Casio calculator.  I absolutely love this calculator and prefer it to the TI calculators that we use.  I am now on a mission to have a class set of these calculators and potentially enough for all of my students to be able to “rent” or “check out” calculators so that they may continue in their math journey at home.  Not only do I find that the Casio calculators are easier to use and have more functionality, but they are also half the price!  There will be more projects for calculators coming soon!

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 8.07.31 PM

2 thoughts on “DonorsChoose and Stephen Colbert

Leave a Reply

